New T2 server

Discuss operating Tier 2 Servers
user6
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:05 am

New T2 server

Postby user6 » Wed Jan 20, 2016 10:09 am

Hi,

I recently set up a T2 server (ip : 151.80.147.153 , 2001:41d0:52:f00::413 )in order to contribute to your project.
When I look into the logs I find a lot of these messages :

Code: Select all

transfer of './IN' from X failed to connect: timed out
transfer of './IN' from X: Transfer completed: 0 messages, 0 records, 0 bytes, 63.000 secs (0 bytes/sec)

Where X stands for a lot of different opennic servers.

Occasionally one is completed.

Code: Select all

transfer of 'dns.opennic.glue/IN' from X : Transfer completed: 1 messages, 493 records, 17111 bytes, 0.505 secs (33883 bytes/sec)

But that is one in a 100.

I'm not sure if this is a problem so I would like to check.

Furthermore, what would be the next step in order to get into your server list ?


Many thanks,

User avatar
chip
T2 Operator
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2016 2:19 am
Location: Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: New T2 server

Postby chip » Wed Jan 20, 2016 3:42 pm

I think the error code is pretty explanatory the connection timed out after 63 seconds. It would be interesting to know if, when that happens, you could ping X or could query for the SOA of the `.` zone:

Code: Select all

dig . @<X server here> SOA

It does appear that a couple of the T1's are down at the time I'm writing this so it may just be that they were down when you were setting up.

Your T2 appears to be passing right now (by running the T2 test here http://report.opennicproject.org/t2log/ ... 80.147.153) so the next thing you can do is go to http://servers.opennicproject.org/, log in and do an "Add new server". It will likely stay in 'approve' status to make sure it's stable for a little while, then one of the operators will test it and approve it.
achip on #opennic | chip.geek

user6
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 9:05 am

Re: New T2 server

Postby user6 » Thu Jan 21, 2016 9:00 am

Thanks for your reply Chip !

I've checked with dig , and the only server that seems reachable is 188.226.215.149 , all the rest throw in a time out.

I'll register my server as you told me.

Many thanks !


Return to “Tier 2 Operations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests